Nagaland was just a district in the State of Assam until 1957, known to others as “The Naga Hills”. the leaders of various Naga tribes, in August 1957, formed the Naga People’s Convention (NPC).

In its first session held at Kohima on August 21, 1957, under the Presidentship of Late Dr. Imkongliba Ao, the NPC proposed the formation of a separate administrative unit by merging the Tuensang division of NEFA with Naga Hills District. The Government of India agreed to the proposal and on December 1, 1957, the new administrative unit known as the Naga Hills and Tuensang Area (NHTA) was inaugurated. In July 1960, a delegation of the NPC met the then Prime Minister of India, the late Jawaharlal Nehru and a 16 point agreement was arrived at, which inter-alia provided for the formulation of a separate State for the Nagas within the Indian Union to be known as “Nagaland” under the Ministry of External Affairs with a Governor and an Administrative Secretariat, a Council of Ministers and Legislative Assembly. (In 1972, the State was brought under the Ministry of Home Affairs).

Prior to the attainment of the full fledged State of Nagaland, the Interim Body which functioned as de facto Legislative Assembly had existed from 18th February, 1961, The Interim Body was in a sense the predecessor of the present Legislative Assembly.

On 21st August, 1962, a bill was introduced in Parliament and passed legalizing the formation of Nagaland as a fully fledged State. The bill passed by the Parliament received President’s assent on the 4th September, 1962 and is known as the State of Nagaland Act, 1962. The Act provides for the formation of the State of Nagaland as the 16th State in the Indian union on 1st December, 1963. The First Nagaland Legislative Assembly was constituted on 11th February, 1964. Since then the State had twelve general Elections and the present House, the twelfth Assembly was constituted on 1st March, 2013. The Nagaland Legislative Assembly is having 1 (one) House with 60 (sixty) elected Members.

The Service conditions of the employees are governed under the Nagaland Legislative Assembly Secretariat (Recruitment & conditions of Service) Rules, 1999(1st Amendment Rules, 2005 Incorporated)

Besides this; Salary, allowances & other facilities admissible to the Speaker/Deputy Speaker/Members of Nagaland Legislative Assembly & facilities to the Ex-Members of Nagaland Legislative Assembly are governed under separate Acts & Rules framed under the provisions of the constitution of India. The Business of the Legislative Assembly and its Committees is conducted according to the Rules of Procedure & Conduct of Business of Nagaland Legislative Assembly and directions issued by the Speaker there under from time to time.